Will you, old turnip, be my Valentine?


Sixty years ago, The Mail (Adelaide) printed a few, somewhat different, valentine verses of in cartoon form.  Here’s one example:

Another verse in the same set of cartoons, if you can manage it ….. from a ‘country boy’

Dear Sarah, be my Valentine

I’ll share my wealth if you’ll be mine.

And in your beaut new satin blouse

Oh you’d look bonzer* milking cows.

Bonzer– excellent.

.

On 9 February 1938, The Queenslander published two Modern Valentines by “Den”, a somewhat more experienced poet.  “Den” was C J Dennis (1876-1938) who gave Australia The Sentimental Bloke.  How could you resist?  “Will you, old turnip, be my Valentine?”  You will see that her response was equally amusing – “I’ve had you tabbed for ages” and “Why all the drivel?”   Happy Valentine’s Day.


One Comment on “Will you, old turnip, be my Valentine?”

  1. […] or other (and I know not why) I keep finding references (see here and here) to C J Dennis, Australian poet, journalist, columnist and now, I discover, author of […]


Leave a Reply

